A poker of wins for Xevi Pons in the Xacobeo Rally da Auga

The ninth edition of the Xacobeo Rally da Auga has concluded with a new exhibition by the Catalan driver Xevi Pons, who, accompanied by Rodrigo Sanjuán, has not given any of his rivals a chance throughout the day and in this second and last section he certified that It is already his fourth victory in this test, which joins those achieved in 2016, 2018 and 2019.

Pons has led Rodrigo Zeballos – Sebastián González by just over a minute, who have shown themselves to be the next strongest team today, without making any mistakes. Félix Macías and Alejandro Portela took the last place on the podium, carrying out a test from less to more, and despite using an older Fabia R5, they have faced many Rally2s.

The fourth place was certainly competed between Daniel Alonso, Oriol Gómez and Juan Carlos Quintana, who arrived separated by 10 seconds to the last special. The order has not changed and the cat overboard has been taken by the Asturian driver of the Citroën C3, by only 4 seconds over the Catalan driver while the Canarian finished sixth.

The Toyota Gazoo Racing Iberian Cup was very competitive, and although Dani Berdomás and Sergi Francolí arrived separated by a single second in the last section, the driver from Coruña broke the rear differential and gave in to a Francolí, who with María Salvo on the right won the his debut in the contest. The Junior U24 Scholarship went to Unai de la Dehesa and Alain Peña, who despite suffering a puncture, came back half a minute from Víctor Navarro in the last section to win.

Regarding the 2WD Cup, Aritz Iriondo – Joseba Sánchez dominated the R2 Challenge at will at the controls of the Peugeot 208 R2, while Paco Montes – David Collado did the same in the Proto Challenge with their small Peugeot 106. Javier Sosa – Carlos Fragiel have also traveled placidly towards victory in Desafío N3 at the wheel of the Skoda Fabia. Unai García and Eguzkiñe Enriquez prevailed in the Kobe Motor Cup, keeping the competition at bay at all times to add the second consecutive victory.

Official classification Xacobeo Rally da Auga 2022

  1. Xevi Pons – Rodrigo Sanjuan (Skoda Fabia Rally2) 1:06:38,4
  2. Rodrigo Zeballos – Sebastián González (Skoda Fabia Rally2), a 1:04,6
  3. Félix Macías – Alejandro Portela (Skoda Fabia R5), a 1:17,5
  4. Daniel Alonso – Adrián Pérez (Citroën C3 Rally2), a 1:45,2
  5. Oriol Gómez – José Murado (Volkswagen Polo GTi R5), a 1:49,1